Days of Obligation

The Catholic Holy Days of Obligation are our most important feast days.

We call them obligations because the Precepts of the Catholic Church tell us that celebrating those feast days is a part of the minimum level of commitment to the Catholic faith.

They are the principal liturgical feasts that honor the mysteries of the Lord, the Virgin Mary, and the saints.

In the Archdiocese of Port of Spain there are three days:

Christmas – Dec 25

Mary, Mother of God – Jan 1

Corpus Christi