Church, MoE in dialogue on ‘Common Entrance’ places
April 5, 2021
Divine Mercy (B)
April 5, 2021

New Commissions and Chairs for the AEC

Over the last year, the Antilles Episcopal Conference (AEC) embarked on several new organisational and pastoral initiatives.

First, they identified five pastoral initiatives on which the Conference will focus. They are the domestic Church, Youth and Young Adult, Catechesis and Education, Unemployment due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the Care of the Earth.

Second, they consolidated 16 commissions to nine, and aligned them with the five pastoral initiatives.

Third, new commission chairs were elected at an extraordinary plenary meeting in February.

A release from the AEC said it is pleased to announce the new commissions, the chairs of the commissions, and the areas of responsibilities of each commission.

They are:

  1. Commission on the New Evangelisation, Chair: Archbishop Charles Jason Gordon of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
  2. Commission on Communications, Chair: Bishop Gabriel Malzaire of Roseau, Dominica
  3. Commission on Vocation and Youth (Youth & Young Adults), Chair: Archbishop Kenneth Richards of Kingston, Jamaica
  4. Commission on Divine Worship and Ministry (Liturgy & Ministries), Chair: Bishop Wesley Spiewak of Hamilton, Bermuda
  5. Commission on the Laity and Family Life (domestic Church & Laity), Chair: Bishop Robert Llanos of St John’s -Basseterre, Antigua
  6. Commission on Doctrine and Faith (Catechesis, Doctrine and Education), Chair: Bishop John Persaud of Mandeville, Jamaica
  7. Commission for Promoting Integral Human Development (Justice and Peace, Migration and Tourism, Health Care, Unemployment and Care for the Earth), Chair: Bishop Francis Alleyne OSB of Georgetown, Guyana
  8. Commission on Ecumenism and Inter-religious Dialogue, Chair: Bishop Clyde Harvey of St George’s-in-Grenada
  9. Commission on Finance, Chair: Bishop Gerard County of Kingstown, St Vincent and the Grenadines.