This poor man cried and the Lord heard him
November 16, 2018
Sacred Heart Girls’ RC repeats in Junior Parang
November 24, 2018

Pres Sando students vote for their Teachers of the Year*

The students of Presentation College, San Fernando, have voted for the top Male and Female Teacher of the Year 2018 at their school.

A total of 20 teachers were recognised as part of a teacher recognition ceremony held at the College on Monday, October 29. When the final votes were counted however, the best Male Teacher was Christopher Mohip (Geography) and Adana Forrester (English Language and Literature) was the top Female Teacher.

The voting, held in the first two weeks of October was a “unique demonstration of democracy in action” a release from the Education Ministry stated. It was also held in observance of the Month of the Teacher.

In the release Principal Dexter Mitchell explained the voting procedure. “The voting was done in the office during recess and lunch time for approximately eight days. They had to put their ballots in a ballot box and we did not want any duplicate voting, so they put their names on the ballot papers to ensure that the students didn’t vote twice”.

He described the school’s student democracy project as evidence of the school’s culture of having dedicated teachers motivated to producing brilliant students within the Education System.

The release stated Mitchell’s wish to see “this kind of student activism via the ballot box becoming an integral part of the national education landscape” as motivated teachers are key to maintaining successful academic standards and high-quality curriculum delivery.

The Male and Female Teachers of the Year were gracious in accepting their awards.  “I feel very honoured and privileged and I’m happy and blessed to be recognised”, the release quotes Forrester, while Mophip was humbled and honoured and gave “thanks to God”.

The Victoria Education District and the Office of the Chief Education Office, Ministry of Education played a significant role in organising the award ceremony.

The teachers received tokens of appreciation from the school administration as a mark of appreciation for their unstinting efforts to improve the lives of their students through education.