Balloon threat
November 10, 2017
Finding refuge in the Spoken Word
November 10, 2017

Keen competition for Junior Parang 2017

Musicians of Sacred Heart Girls' RC at last year's Junior Parang Festival. Photo: Gerard-Paul Wanliss

The competition will be keen next weekend (November 18–19) as a total of 53 primary and secondary schools vie for the top spots in the National Parang Association of TT/National Lotteries Control Board Junior Parang 2017.

Showtime starts 9 a.m. at the Valsayn Campus of the University of Trinidad and Tobago, Old Southern Main Road, Valsayn. The theme is Sabaneando, Sabaneando (taken from a medley by San Jose Serenaders).

By November 18, 33 primary schools had registered up from 25 last year, and among them are 25 Catholic schools. Good Shepherd AC are the defending champions. Altogether 19 secondary schools will perform the following day, 9 of them being Catholic. Moruga Secondary won last year but will not be defending the title.

This year’s show is dedicated to Michael Lezama, a member of the original San Jose Serenaders and current leader of the band. NPATT is recognising his long-standing contribution to parang.

Primary schools are required to perform a song on either the events of the Annunciation, or the Birth of Christ. Secondary schools will present two songs: the first one either the Annunciation or the Birth of Christ, and the second will be a tune of their choice.

Patrons can look forward to additional entertainment from guest performers. Los Sonidos, former winners of the Junior Parang festival will perform on Saturday for the junior competition, and San Jose Serenaders on Sunday.

The entrance fees are: adults, $60; youths 12–19, $40; children 11 and under are free.

The playing positions are:
Primary: 1. Success RC; 2. Arima Boys’ Government; 3. Cunapo (St Francis) RC; 4. Mayo RC; 5. San Juan Girls’ Government; 6. Sacred Heart Boys’ RC; 7. Good Shepherd Anglican (defending champions); 8. Carapichaima RC; 9. Arima Girls’ Government; 10. Sacred Heart Girls’ RC; 11. The University School; 12. La Horquetta North Government; 13. St Benedict’s RC; 14. La Veronica RC; 15. Paramin RC;16. Aripo (St Jude) RC; 17. St Ann’s RC; 18. St Joseph Boys’ RC; 19. Gran Couva RC; 20. San Juan Boys’ RC; 21. Jerningham Government; 22. Brazil RC; 23. Newtown Girls’ RC; 24. La Seiva RC; 25. Malabar RC; 26. Barataria Anglican; 27. St Peter’s RC; 28. Arima Boys & Girls’ RC; 29. St Charles Girls’ RC; 30. Chaguanas RC; 31. San Rafael RC; 32. Newtown Boys’ RC; 33. Curepe Fatima RC.

Secondary: 1. St Mary’s  College; 2. Bishop Anstey High School; 3. Providence Girls’ Catholic School; 4. Queen’s Royal College; 5. Holy Name Convent; 6. St Joseph’s Convent, St Joseph; 7. St Joseph’s Convent, Port of Spain; 8. Holy Faith Convent, Couva; 9. El Dorado East Secondary; 10. Mucurapo West Secondary; 11. Bishop Anstey Trinity College East; 12. St George’s College; 13. St Augustine Secondary; 14. Belmont Secondary; 15. Trinity College, Moka; 16. Tableland Secondary; 17. St Charles High School; 18. St Benedict’s College; 19. Holy Faith Convent, Penal.